Hiking in the Big Bend

I have been itching to go hiking for several weeks now. Went to bed last night with rain and woke up with more this morning. It started to move out around noon, so I grabbed my gear and was out the door at 12:50pm. Nice and cool…Temp-68

IMG_4463
Arrived at Dog Canyon at 1:40…Temp-77
IMG_4464
I’m headed to the canyon between the two peaks above
IMG_4466
Trail is muddy from all the rain

IMG_4484

IMG_4472
I read where these rocks fell off sometime in the 1980’s
IMG_4502e
The trail leads you down a dry wash to the canyon, but because of all the rain I had to go up out of the canyon.
IMG_4495
Going left
IMG_4589e
I think this is a Scott’s Oriole
IMG_4557e
Looking back to the trail head where I started.
IMG_4522e
The canyon walls are beautiful
IMG_4546e
Getting close
IMG_4602e
The closer I get, the better the view!!

IMG_4604e

IMG_4605e

IMG_4572e
There it is…I could have stayed up here for hours. The wind was howling through the canyon. So peaceful…just me, the wind and this view.

IMG_4564e

IMG_4598e
This is one side of the canyon wall
IMG_4543e
Another little hole in the wall

IMG_4617e

IMG_4630e

I’m hooked on the Big Bend. I can’t wait to go on another hike. Such a beautiful unspoiled wide open area.

One thought on “Hiking in the Big Bend

Leave a Reply

